Lapdog Ltd.
PO Box 145
Marton 4741
New Zealand
Phone:
0800 LAPDOG
 

 

Dog Breeding Pre-Mate Test Pads - Case Studies
On-going Study
If you have a case study - normal or abnormal that is well documented,
feel free to submit it to Lapdog along with the Pre-Mate Pad photos.

Case Study 1 - Normal (Bitch A)

Case Study 1 and Case Study 2 are related studies in that both bitches live together and cycle together in their seasons and have done so for nearly two years.  What makes these two cases interesting during the cycle recorded here is that Bitch B in Case Study 2 came into season first.  She appeared to be normal in her season and her LH rise was in the timeframe expected.  However on her 10th day and at the beginning of her LH spike, the second bitch, Bitch A in Case Study 1 came on heat.  The progesterone rise was slowed down and Bitch B started heavy bleeding, which she had not done during the first 10 days of her season.  Meanwhile, Bitch A in Case Study 1 proceeded along normally and the rise in LH was as expected and the pad stayed pink in the PM on day 11.  On day 12, she registered 4.9 on her blood progesterone test.  Ovulation is considered to be when the bitch registers 5 on progesterone, so we can assume this was Bitch A's ovulation day.  Blood progesterone was measured from Bitch B on the same day as Bitch A -- this was Day 21 for Bitch B and her progesterone was almost exactly the same as Bitch A, registering 5.4.  It appears that Bitch A's hormones were more dominate and influenced Bitch B to such a degree that Bitch B had, what is termed, a split season in that she had gone along normally until Bitch A came on heat and then "cooled off" and as Bitch A released her LH, Bitch A and B's progesterone rose together at the same rates.  The Dog Breeding Pre-Mate Test Pads have a note that they are not reliable with split seasons.  We have included the pad results in Case 2 showing the results on a split season - in this case, caused by a second bitch with a stronger hormonal influence coming on heat 10 days after the first bitch.  Bitch A was mated and produced a litter of 10 puppies on her 63rd day of pregnancy.


Date
Cycle Day Notes Pad AM Pad PM
Monday, 28 June 1 Heavy bleeding
Tuesday, 29 June 2 Heavy bleeding
Wednesday, 30 June 3 Heavy bleeding
Thursday, 1 July 4 Heavy bleeding
Friday, 2 July 5 Heavy bleeding
Saturday, 3 July 6 Heavy bleeding
Sunday, 4 July 7 Heavy bleeding
Monday, 5 July 8 Heavy bleeding  - Pre-Mate Pad small line of purple at top of pad

 

 

Tuesday, 6 July 9 Heavy bleeding.  Pre-Mate Pad purple on edges in AM.  More over all purple in PM.

 


spike
Wednesday, 7 July 10 Heavy bleeding - red.  Pre-Mate Pad overall purple colour AM, not as much PM.  
spike
Thursday, 8 July 11 Bleeding slowing down some, still red.  Hint of purple on Pre-Mate Pad in AM.  Tissue above vulva still firm.

 

Friday, 9 July 12 Bleeding red, slowed down.  Touch of purple AM.  Stayed pink PM.  Tissue above vulva soft. Ovulation.  Blood Progesterone 4.9 at 10 AM / Thyroid T4 - 19 (normal range 10 to 36)
Saturday, 10 July 13

Sunday, 11 July 14 1st Mating 6.30 PM - slip mating then 20 minute tie

Monday, 12 July 15

2nd Mating 4.30 PM - 20 minute tie


Tuesday, 13 July 16 3rd Mating 4.30 PM - 20 minute tie
Wednesday, 14 July 17
Thursday, 15 July 18
Friday, 16 July 19
Saturday, 17 July 20
Sunday, 18 July 21
Monday, 19 July 22

 

Case Study 2 - Abnormal Cycle (Bitch B)

Split season.  See notes under Case Study 1
Date Cycle Day Notes Pad AM Pad PM
Saturday, 19 June 1 Bleeding moderately - red colour    
Sunday, 20 June 2 No noticeable blood    
Monday, 21 June 3 No noticeable blood    
Tuesday, 22 June 4 No noticeable blood    
Wednesday, 23 June 5 No noticeable blood    
Thursday, 24 June 6 No noticeable blood    
Friday, 25 June 7 No noticeable blood    
Saturday, 26 June 8 No noticeable blood    
Sunday, 27 June 9 No noticeable blood    
Monday, 28 June 10 No noticeable blood  - Pre-Mate Test Pad turned purple at both 9 AM and 9 PM.  2nd bitch (Case Study 1) in same kennel started season today.

 


spike
Tuesday, 29 June 11 Pre-Mate Test Pad turned purple 9.30 AM and 9 PM

 


spike
Wednesday, 30 June 12 Pre-Mate Test Pad turned purple around edges 8.45 Am and 11.30 PM.  Noticeable dark red blood.

 

Thursday, 1 July 13 Pre-Mate Test Pad - small amount of purple both AM / PM.  Blood dark red and noticeable.  Blood progesterone 1.9 / 10 AM.  PM tissue above vulva spongy soft.
Friday, 2 July 14 Blood turning brighter red.  Small amount of purple around the edges of pad.  Blood progesterone 2.3 / 10 AM

 

 
Saturday, 3 July 15 Bleeding moderately heavy - red blood

 

   
Sunday, 4 July 16 Bleeding moderately heavy - red blood

 

   
Monday, 5 July 17 Bleeding moderately - red blood.  Blood progesterone 2.5 / 10 AM / Thyroid T4 = 15 (normal 10 to 35)  Previous season T4 was 18.    
Tuesday, 6 July 18 Still bleeding red, but appears to have slowed

 

 
Wednesday, 7 July 19

 

Still bleeding red, but slowing down

 

Thursday, 8 July 20

 

Still bleeding red, but slowing down.  Tissue above vulva soft.  PM - first square 60 seconds, second square 2 minutes
Friday, 9 July 21 Bleeding slowed down.  Tissue above vulva soft.  Ovulation.  Blood Progesterone - 5.4 at 10 AM (tested same time as Case Study 1 bitch who was 4.9  on her 12th day).  Pad stayed pink AM, but touch of purple PM.  As noted on instructions - pads are not reliable with split seasons.
Saturday, 10 July 22      
Sunday, 11 July 23 Not mated    
Monday, 12 July 24      
Tuesday, 13 July 25      
Wednesday, 14 July 26      
Thursday, 15 July 27      
Friday, 16, July 28      

 

Case Study 3
Date Cycle Day Notes Pad AM Pad PM
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22

 

Case Study 4
Date Cycle Day Notes Pad AM Pad PM
  1      
  2      
  3      
  4      
  5      
  6      
  7      
  8      
  9      
  10      
  11      
  12      
  13      
  14      
  15      
  16      
  17      
  18      
  19      
  20      
  21      
  22      



 

   

NEWS FLASH!
Lorgair Kennel results using GNLD Threshold Vitamin C to reduce HD

See the results!